Now in Minsk   The weather in Belarus

Home Embassy News

Visa restrictions related to COVID-19 in Sri Lanka

   The Government of Sri Lanka has notified the termination of entry visas on arrival at the international airport of Colombo from 12:00 on March 14, 2020 to foreigners arriving with ordinary passports.

   The Government Information Department issuing a statement said that under the quarantine procedure currently in place with the aim of preventing the spread of coronavirus COVID-19 in the country. All Sri Lankans as well as foreigners arriving from Italy, South Korea and Iran are placed in quarantine facilities for 14 days.

   Several foreigners who had arrived in the country from those countries are already placed in quarantine.

   The statement says that no individual has any social or legal rights to reject this process which is being carried out for the safety of the country and its citizens while the government urges all relevant parties to follow the process for the safety of the citizens of the country.

   Meanwhile the government has also decided to temporarily suspend the on arrival visa facility for foreigners until further notice.

   The public are urged to avoid engaging in foreign travel as much as possible, except for essential reasons.

   Sri Lanka in January 2020 suspended its policy of granting visa on arrival for Chinese travelers, after the health authorities detected the country’s first coronavirus infection.